SENIOR SOLO PIANOFORTE:

9.01 Morris Grant Bursary

Open to the winners of the following 2018 ESB Feis Ceoil Competitions: Hamilton Harty, Pigott, Huban, Heneghan, Glavin, Nordell, and Benson Cups.

Prize: €2,500 for the purpose of further musical study. Also Silver Cup tenable for one year.

Test:

Competitors to perform:

Either their test piece(s) in their entirety,

Or a solo recital programme of 20 minutes' duration which must include, in their entirety, the test piece(s) from the competition which they represent but exclude set pieces which they have performed in other competitions.

(This clause applies only to competitors whose qualifying prize-winning programme is of less than 20 minutes' duration).

Should a competitor win more than one of the above competitions, he/she will select which competition to represent in the Bursary and the runner-up in the one(s) not selected will be permitted to compete provided 85 marks or more have been obtained.

Should a competitor win one of the cups but not be eligible to compete in the Bursary and the runner-up is similarly ineligible, the competitor with the next highest mark may compete provided 85 marks or more have been obtained.

The Bursary will be administered through Feis Ceoil Association and must be drawn down within one year of competition date.

Previous winners of this Bursary are not eligible. There will be only one winner.

NB: Please note that the winner of this competition is eligible to apply for the RDS €15,000 Music Bursary. (See www.feisceoil.ie for further details).

9.02 Hamilton Harty Cup

For Pianoforte Concerto.

Prize: Cup Entrance: €60

Test:

Own choice (any concerto for Piano & Orchestra).

The orchestral part to be played on a second piano. Pianist must be provided by the competitor.

9.03 John A. Pigott Memorial Cup

For advanced Pianoforte playing. Open to all pianists (including former gold medallists) except competitors in Senior Pianoforte Solo in 2018.

Prize: Cup Entrance: €60

Test:

One complete set of pieces from the following:

Brahms: Opp 116, 117, 118 or 119

9.04 Nordell Cup

Presented by V.J. Nordell & Co. Ltd. For Sonata Playing

Prize: Cup Entrance: €60

Test:

Competitors to play a sonata of own choice. The choice will be limited to composers born pre 1870. If there are ten or more entries the Board of Directors may decide to have the adjudicator limit the performance in the preliminary round. In this case the preliminary round performance will be limited to one movement of the competitor's choice or, in the case of a sonata of one movement, or a movement which exceeds 10 minutes, performances will be limited to 10 minutes. Competitors recalled will play the entire sonata.

9.05 Anthony Glavin Trophy & Awards

Presented by his friends in his memory.

1st **Prize:** Trophy & €1,000

2nd Prize: €500 3rd Prize: €300 Entrance: €60

Test:

Competitors to play a Sonata of own choice. The choice will be limited to composers born post 1870. If there are ten or more entries the Board may decide to have the adjudicator limit the performance in the preliminary round. In this case the preliminary round performance will be limited to one movement of the competitor's choice or, in the case of a sonata of one movement, or a movement which exceeds 10 minutes, performances will be limited to 10 minutes. Competitors recalled will play the entire sonata.

9.06 Huban Cup and Patrick Brennan €1,000 Award.

A programme of works by Chopin & a French composer.

1st **Prize:** Cup presented by friends and past pupils of the late Miss Elizabeth Huban.

Also €1,000 in memory of the late Mr Patrick Brennan.

2nd Prize: €100 presented anonymously.

Entrance: €60

Test:

(a) Chopin: Any two Études from Opp. 10 and 25

(b) Any work by a French composer, except Miroirs by Ravel

Time limit for programme - 25 minutes.

9.07 Mrs. M. T. Heneghan Memorial Cup

Presented by Frank and Ann Heneghan.

Prize: Cup plus recital offered by EPTA (with a fee of €150)

Entrance: €60

Test:

Own choice. Programme not exceeding 30 minutes' duration to include at least one piece composed since 1st January 2000. All sonatas or sonata movements are excluded with the exception of Baroque Sonatas. Test pieces set for 2017 or 2018 may not be presented, nor may a competitor's own choice for those years be included.

Competitors shall have won in previous years at least one of the following cups: Caroline Reilly (Senior Piano), Esposito, Pigott, Hamilton Harty, Benson, Nordell, Huban or Glavin. Please note change to this competition for 2018.

9.08 John Benson Memorial Cup

Presented by his friends. For Bach playing. Total time limit for programme - 25 minutes

Prize: Cup Entrance: €50

Test:

Any one of the Toccatas.

9.09 Esposito Cup Prize: Cup Entrance: €50

Test:

Own choice programme (15 mins max) to include at least one work by Esposito.

9.10 Senior Pianoforte Solo

The Caroline Elizabeth Reilly Memorial Cup. Presented by Misses Reilly.

1st Prize: Cup and Gold Medal.

2nd Prize: Silver Medal

Entrance: €50

Test:

(a) Chopin: Berceuse Op. 57

(b) Ravel: Sonatine, 3rd movt. Animé

9.11 Mabel Swainson Pianoforte Award

Age limit: 17 to 28 years.

1st **Prize:** Prize includes a recital at the Kevin Barry Room of the National Concert Hall and at

Clandeboye Festival 2018 (subject to the winner's availability). Also, the winner will

receive a perpetual cup tenable for one year.

2nd Prize: Betty Clarke Medal, presented by the late Mrs. Betty Clarke

Entrance: €60

Test:

Competitors to perform a programme of works lasting not less than 20 minutes and no longer than 25 minutes. Selected repertoire must represent at least two of the following categories: baroque, classical, romantic (including late romantic), European impressionist, contemporary. Attention is drawn to Rule 23 of the Regulations of the Feis Ceoil.

The winner will be required to submit the programme for their public recital for approval by 1st June 2018. A varied programme is recommended for this recital, which should include a substantial work, or set of pieces comprising one opus number, and one piece of contemporary music written by an Irish composer since 1st January 1980.

Previous winners are not eligible.

Please note that this award is not eligible as a qualifying competition for the Morris Grant Bursary.

NB: Please note change to this competition for 2018.